Domains were invented to make it easier to find sites on the World Wide Web. In the past, you had to keep in mind the IP address, a sequence of 4 numbers that are separated by dots. This address indicates the server where the resource is located. You can keep a few of these numbers in your memory, but when the number of such addresses reaches dozens, confusion will set in. An analogy can be made. Few people memorize phone numbers, they just add them to the phone memory and give them a name.

What is the difference between hosting and domain

Hosting is the physical location of a website. The site can be placed on your home computer, but quality and reliable hosting requires more in-depth knowledge related to the administration of the site. Therefore, the best solution is to purchase hosting from a hosting company.

hostkoss-blog-What-is-the-difference-between-hosting-and-domain

A domain is a website address that visitors type in when accessing a website. Domain is required in order to distinguish between sites. Even if a person will not enter the address of your project into a browser, but will get to the site from a search engine, search engines also need to somehow distinguish between sites.

Types of domain names

The first level of a domain. Another name is top level. A 1st level domain is the component of a name that is to the left of the last dot. Registering a domain, you can not come up with your own first-level domain. You can only choose from those offered by registrars.

Second. Another name is primary or mother domain. The 2nd level domain is the component of the name that is to the left of the last dot. Google is the second-level domain in the name google.com. In some states, registrars use second-level domains as an alternative to top-level domains. For example, .ac.uk and .co.uk.

Third. Or differently – subdomain or subdomain. Level 3 domain is a part of the name, which is located to the left of the penultimate point. Subdomains are needed when you need to assign a unique address to different categories on the site. For example, there is the domain google.co.uk, where the 3rd level domain is google.

What domains are available

Generic domains designate a certain field of activity. For example, .com for commercial organizations, .org for non-profit organizations, and .edu for educational organizations. Gradually, .com domains have become so popular that not only commercial enterprises have started using them. There is no prohibition to register .com domains even if one is not associated with commerce. Generic domains are characterized by easy registration. Anyone can register them and no documents are needed to do so. Now there are already more than a thousand top-level domains.

National domains are first-level domains that are intended for certain countries. As a rule, the basis for national first-level domains are two-letter country codes. Therefore, all national domains of the 1st level consist of 2 letters. Registration of a national domain is usually more complicated than a generic one. Some countries give permission to register their national domains exclusively to their citizens or official residents. And then, registering a domain, you need to specify a physical address, passport data or driver’s license data.

Why domain names are needed

For the site. Without a domain, visitors will need to remember the IP address to get to the resource. Therefore, you need to choose a domain that will be memorized, so that people can type it from memory, even without bookmarking it.

For parking. Parking a domain is when a page with the text “the site is still under development” or something like that is placed on the domain. Such pages are called parking pages. When the site is finished, the domain still needs to be registered. It is better to do it earlier, so that it is not occupied by others.

For mail. On the domain you can set up e-mail. To do this, you need to purchase hosting and set up a mail account.

For redirection. Even if you are not going to make a site, you can buy a domain and set up redirection to your page in contact, classmates or Instagram. After that, everyone who enters the domain name in the web browser will be on your page.

About the Author

Andrii Kostashchuk

Andrii has experience in programming in various languages for different platforms and systems. He has spent more than 8 years in the Internet sphere, working with various CMS, such as: Opencart, Drupal, Joomla, and of course, the most popular content management system WordPress.

View All Articles

Домены были придуманы для того, чтобы было удобнее находить сайты во всемирной паутине. Раньше нужно было держать в голове IP-адрес, последовательность из 4х чисел, которые разделены точками. Данный адрес указывает на сервер, где расположен ресурс. Можно удержать в памяти несколько таких номеров, однако, когда количество таких адресов достигнет десятков, то начнётся путаница. Можно провести аналогию. Мало кто знает на память телефонные номера, их просто добавляют в память телефона и присваивают им имя.

Чем отличается хостинг от домена

Хостинг – это физическое месторасположение сайта. Сайт можно разместить и на домашнем компьютере, но качественный и надёжный хостинг требует более глубоких познаний, связанных с администрированием сайта. Поэтому наилучшим решением будет приобрести хостинг у хостинговой компании.

hostkoss-blog-What-is-the-difference-between-hosting-and-domain

Домен – это адрес сайта, который набирают посетители при обращении к сайту. Домен требуется для того, чтобы различать сайты. Даже если человек не будет самостоятельно вводить адрес вашего проекта в браузер, а попадёт на сайт из поисковика, поисковикам тоже нужно каким-то образом различать сайты.

Виды доменных имён

Первый уровень домена. Другое название – верхний уровень. Домен 1-го уровня – это составляющая имени, которая располагается левее последней точки. Регистрируя домен, нельзя придумать собственный домен первого уровня. Можно лишь выбрать из тех, которые предлагаются регистраторами.

Второй. Другое название — основной или материнский. Домен 2-го уровня – это составляющая имени, которая находится левее последней точки. Google – это домен второго уровня в имени google.com. В некоторых государствах регистраторы используют домены второго уровня как альтернативу доменам верхнего уровня. К примеру, .ac.uk и .co.uk.

Третий. Или по-другому — субдомен или поддомен. Домен 3-го уровня – это часть имени, которая располагается левее предпоследней точки. Субдомены нужны тогда, когда нужно назначить уникальный адрес разным категориям на сайте. К примеру, есть домен google.co.uk, где доменом третьего уровня является google.

Какие бывают домены

Общие домены обозначают некую сферу деятельности. К примеру, .com – для коммерческих организаций, .org – для некоммерческих, .edu – для образовательных. Постепенно .com домены приобрели такую популярность, что их стали использовать не только коммерческие предприятия. Не существует запрета на регистрацию .com доменов, даже если человек не связан с коммерцией. Общие домены характеризуются простой регистрацией. Зарегистрировать их может каждый и для этого не нужны никакие документы. Сейчас доменов верхнего уровня уже больше тысячи.

Национальные — это домены первого уровня, которые предназначены для определённых стран. Как правило, основой для национальных доменов первого уровня являются двухбуквенные коды государств. Поэтому все национальные домены 1-го уровня состоят из 2х букв. Регистрация национального домена, как правило, сложнее, чем общего. Часть стран дают разрешение на регистрацию их национальных доменов исключительно своим гражданам или официальным резидентам. И тогда, регистрируя домен, нужно указать физический адрес, паспортные данные или данные водительского удостоверения.

Зачем нужны доменные имена

Для сайта. Без домена посетителям нужно будет запоминать IP-адрес, чтобы попасть на ресурс. Поэтому нужно выбрать домен, который отложится в памяти, чтобы люди могли набирать его по памяти, даже не занося в закладки.

Для парковки. Парковка домена – это когда на домене размещается страничка с текстом “сайт ещё в стадии разработки” или что-то вроде того. Такие странички называются парковочными. Когда сайт будет закончен, домен всё равно нужно будет регистрировать. Лучше это сделать раньше, чтобы его не заняли другие.

Для почты. На домене можно настроить e-mail. Для этого вам нужно приобрести хостинг и настроить почтовый аккаунт.

Для переадресации. Даже если вы не собираетесь делать сайт, можно приобрести домен и настроить переадресацию на вашу страничку в контакте, одноклассниках или инстаграме. После этого каждый, кто введёт доменное имя в веб-обозревателе, окажется на вашей страничке.

Об авторе

Andrii Kostashchuk

Андрей имеет опыт программирования на разных языках под разные платформы и системы. Более 8 лет посвятил сфере веб, работая с разными CMS, такими как: Opencart, Drupal, Joomla, и конечно же наиболее популярной в наши дни системой управления контентом WordPress.

Просмотреть все статьи